Certified Internal Auditor® (CIA®)

The Certified Internal Auditor® (CIA®) qualification, issued by the Institute of Internal Auditors (IIA) in the USA, is the only internationally accepted certification for internal auditors and remains a standard by which individuals can demonstrate their competence, professionalism and ethics in the field of internal auditing.

Earning the CIA® designation is a valuable achievement and a professional advantage for auditors at all stages of their careers, including chief audit executives, audit managers, audit staff, and risk management staff, as well as students enrolled in an accounting or other business or financial degree program.

As the only globally recognized internal audit certification, becoming a CIA® is the optimum way to communicate knowledge, skills, and competencies to effectively carry out professional responsibilities for any internal audit, anywhere in the world.

CIA Structure

Part 1: Essentials of Internal Auditing

Foundations of Internal Auditing (15%)

Independence and Objectivity (15%)

Proficiency and Due Professional Care (18%)

Quality Assurance and Improvement Program (7%)

Governance, Risk Management, and Control (35%)

Fraud Risks (10%)

Part 2: Practice of Internal Auditing

Managing the Internal Audit Activity (20%)

Planning the Engagement (20%)

Performing the Engagement (40%)

Communicating Results and Monitoring Progress (20%)

Part 3: Business Knowledge for Internal Auditing

Business Acumen (35%)

Information Security (25%)

Information Technology (20%)

Financial Management (20%)

Part 1 is 125 multiple-choice questions in 2.5 hours and Parts 2 and 3 are each 100 multiple-choice questions in 2 hours.

Requirements to be a CIA

  • A Bachelor's Degree or equivalent OR seven years of verified internal auditing experience.
  • Two years of professional experience in internal audit, which can be completed after passing the exam. Only one year is required for candidates with a master's degree.
  • Passing Parts 1, 2, and 3 of the CIA exam.

CIA Exam Fees

There are three separate fees for taking the CIA exams, with prices depending on whether or not you are a IIA member.

  1. CIA Program Application Fee: $115 (member) or $230 (non-member)
  2. CIA Part 1 Exam Fee: $280 (member) or $395 (non-member)
  3. CIA Parts 2 or 3 Exam Fee: $230 (member) or $345 (non-member) per Part

When To Take the Exam

The CIA Exams are offered year-round through Pearson VUE testing centers. Available dates may vary by country depending on local holidays.

Why Study with HOCK UAE?

One dedicated and experienced instructor for each Part.

Focus and follow-up with every candidate until passing the exam.

Access to the instructor between classes and after classes end.

Genuine HOCK international materials with every class.

HOCK Materials Included

Comprehensive textbooks in PDF and hard copy with complete coverage of the exam syllabus.

Practice previous exam questions online, with full explanations for all answers.

Quickly study formulas and main concepts with PowerPoint electronic flash cards.

Mock exams with new questions not used elsewhere provide a final review before the real exam.

Yes, I'd like to be Certified!